Showing posts with label Dominicans. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Dominicans. Show all posts

Wednesday, October 3, 2018

Consecration of New Cloister of Traditional Society of Saint Vincent Ferrer

On September 29, the consecration of the new cloister church of the Old Rite Dominican Society of Saint-Vincent Ferrier (FSVF) took place. The community also includes two German brothers.

(Paris) On September 29, the Archangel Michael's Solemnity, Archbishop Guido Pozzo consecrated the Monastery Church of the Dominican fraternité Saint-Vincent Ferrier (FSVF, Brotherhood of St. Vincent Ferrer). Subsequently, Holy Mass was first celebrated in the new church.

Blessing by Archbishop Guido PozzoBlessing by Archbishop Guido Pozzo

The Fraternitas Sancti Vincentii Ferrerii was founded in 1979 by Père Louis-Marie de Blignières and in 1988 recognized by the Pontifical Commission Ecclesia Dei and canonically established papally under canon law. The Society cultivates the old Dominican Rite, as it prevailed before the liturgical reform.

The seat of the Society is the Saint-Thomas d'Aquin Monastery, which is rebuilt in Chémeré-le-Roi in Maine (Diocese of Laval) in the traditional style. In 2017, the shell of the monastery church of Our Lady of the Rosary was completed. Last Saturday, the blessing had taken place. It was undertaken by Curial Archbishop Guido Pozzo, Secretary of the Pontifical Commission Ecclesia Dei, which since 1988 has been responsible for the Old Rite communities in the Church.

Tradition: part of the new church and the new monastery

Following the consecration, the first Holy Mass was celebrated in the church. To this end, around 1,200 faithful had gathered. Prior Louis-Marie de Blignières spoke of the abbey church as "a gateway to heaven" that is "oriented to the east, to the place of the promise of our first home.”

In his homily, Msgr. Pozzo spoke about the angels, the messengers of God, and the position of the Archangel Michael in the Scriptures as defending the uniqueness of God against "the deceptions of the dragon, the ancient serpent":

"The serpent's attempt is to make people believe that God must disappear so that man can grow. God is resisting the freedom of man, and we have to get rid of God. Today, he indicates a form of even more subtle atheism, to make believe that we do not need God to be happy and to give meaning to life and the world. In reality, the dragon does not just accuse God. The apocalypse also calls him, the accuser of our brothers, who accuses them day and night before God "(Rev 12:10).

Large windows to the east, the "place of promise", after their installation

Who let God disappear from the life of man does not let man grow thereby, but takes away his dignity. According to the scriptures, the other task of the Archangel Michael is to protect the people of God and to watch over him. It must be protected from seduction, it must be helped to find the joy of faith and to distinguish right from wrong, to accept the good and reject the evil.

"Our Church needs the guidance, support and protection of the Archangel Michael so that she will not be beaten by the winds and storms of spiritual error and confusion in teaching that are prevalent today, even in ecclesial communion."

At the same time, the Curial Archbishop called those present, to pray the prayer to the Archangel Michael
written in 1886 by Pope Leo XIII. and prayed until the liturgical reform at the end of Holy Mass. According to Monsignor Pozzo, Pope John Paul II, in 1994, called for this prayer every day as part of the International Year of the Family to defeat the forces of darkness and evil in the world.

Feast of St. Dominic in the Friary (2018)

For more information about the Brotherhood and the construction of the monastery:

If you would like to support the establishment of the Church and Convent or the Brotherhood:

Text: Giuseppe Nardi
Image: FSVF
Trans: Tancred

Monday, October 9, 2017

Old Rite Dominicans Have Elected New Prior

(Paris) The Fraternité Saint-Vincent Ferrier (Fraternitas Sancti Vincentii Ferrerii), an old-ritual, traditional Dominican community, has chosen a new Prior on the 22nd September.

Père Louis-Marie de Blignières

Père Louis-Marie de Blignières, the founder and first successor to the Order, has been elected Prior for the next six years. Pater de Blignières has already led the community of Dominicans, who cultivate the ritual of the Order, from its founding in 1979 to 2011. This long term of office was only possible with special permission from the Holy See to consolidate the still young foundation in continuity. The Dominican tradition does not provide for a direct re-election. A new election can only take place after the end of the mandate of another superior. The Père Dominique-Marie de Saint Laumer, who had been a member since the founding of the Society and was ordained a priest in 1988, was elected the second Prior of the Community, which is located in the Monastery of Saint Thomas Aquinas in Chémeré-le-Roi in Mayenne.
With the end of his term of office, a re-election of Père Louis-Marie de Blignières became possible.

The search for the truth and the founding of the Society

Prior de Blignières was born in 1949, Olivier Marquis Le Barbier de Blignières, son of a French officer, in Madrid. In Paris he completed a diploma thesis in mathematics and physics with a specialization in astrophysics. While studying, he returned to the Church after a departure from the faith and entered a Benedictine monastery in the Swiss canton of Valais. Shortly thereafter, he went to the Priestly Society of St. Pius Xin Econe. In 1977 he was ordained priest by Archbishop Marcel Lefebvre. At that time he was close to sedisprivationist positions.

Plan of monastery and church

Committed to religious life and committed to Saint Thomas Aquinas, he founded the Society of Saint Vincent Ferrer in 1979 Since 1981, the Society had published the theological quarterly Sedes SapientiaeThe Community is dedicated to studying the great Dominican Saint Thomas Aquinas and scholasticism. In 1981 the first brother made the vow.
An approach to Rome took place in 1986, so that in 1987 the first brothers were able to begin their thomistic studies at the papal universities in Rome.
In 1988, the Society was incorporated into full unity with Rome and canonically established by the Pontifical Commission Ecclesia Dei as a community of papal law. The bishop of Laval in France confirmed his establishment in his diocese. After the final approval of their statutes by the Holy See in 1995, Bishop Armand Maillard of Laval blessed the monastery. In 1998, the first election of the priory took place according to the statutes approved by Rome.

The family de Blignières

Louis-Marie de Blignière's younger brother, Arnaud, after graduating from a military academy, joined a Benedictine congregation and was ordained a priest in 1979 by Archbishop Lefebvre. Because of the legal but unauthorized ordination by Archbishop Lefebvre, he joined the Priestly Society of St. Peter in 1988, which entered into full unity with Rome and was canonically recognized by the Holy See in the same year.

The construction work is now more advanced (see video)

Another brother is the well-known Catholic publicist Hugues Le Barbier de Blignières, better known by the mother's family name as Hugues Kéraly. One year after his death, he devoted a book to his father entitled, "Hervé de Blignières: A Fighter in the Troubles of the Century."
Their father, Hervé Marquis Le Barbier de Blignieres, was a professional officer. He fought in the Second World War and spent five years as a German  prisoner of war. As he was liberated in 1945, he entered the Foreign Legion in 1947 and fought in Indochina. Returned from Southeast Asia in 1956, he contributed to the reform of the École Supérieure de Guerre military collegeAs a lieutenant, he took part in the Algerian war from 1958 on, and was promoted to colonel, chief of staff of the secret underground forces, OAS, formed in 1961. In 1963 he was sentenced to six months' imprisonment in France. After his release he was president of the interest group of families and children abducted by the FLN in Algeria. In 1970, he himself barely escaped an abduction. In 1989, he died at La Haichois Castle in his homeland Bretagne.
The great-grandfather, Ernest Marquis, Le Barbier de Blignières, a lawyer, was the General Inspector of Finances under Emperor Napoleon III. and after the Franco-German war, Prefect in the Vosges and the Loire. He then became Minister of Public Works in Egypt under the Prime Minister of Armenia, Boghos Nubar Pasha.

Construction of the monastery church of Our Lady of the Rosary

The old rite Dominican community is building a monastery and a monastic church in Chémeré-le-Roi in Mayenne. The shell of the church was finished this year. It is to be consecrated to Our Lady of the Rosary.
The blessing of the new guest house of the monastery took place at today's Rosary Festival.
One year ago, a priest of the Society, Père Augustine-Marie Aubry, celebrated a Holy Mass for the first time in 745 years in the most famous crossroads of the Orient, the Krak des Chevaliers (now Syria).

Text: Giuseppe Nardi
Photo: FSVF
Trans: Tancred
Link to Katholisches...

Thursday, February 18, 2016

800 Years of the Dominican Order -- Varying Trends

Philippine Dominicans
(Manila) 800 years ago, in 1216,  Pope Honorius III. confirmed the Dominicans, previously founded two years before. There are completely variant trends in  the Order.
The founder was is Spaniard, Domingo de Guzman, better known as Saint Dominic. From him, the mendicant order also received its common name. Officially, it is called Ordo fratrum Praedicatorum (OP), in English, Today, the Order of Preachers Is led, which now numbers approximately 5,900 brothers and 3,000 contemplative and 30,000 apostolic sisters, by Frenchman Bruno Cadoré. In 1959 the Order had even 9,506 brothers.
There are provinces of fading inexorably appears and.Throughout Austria, there is only one Dominican monastery. Vienna archbishop Cardinal Christoph Schönborn, belongs to this Order.
But there are still provinces that are alive and flourishing in the best sense of the word. These include the Dominican Province of the Order of St. Joseph in the eastern part of the USA. There the Immemorial Mass is also  maintained.
This also applies to the Provincia Philippinarum in the Philippines. This past Deceber 10th, 18 new novies of the Province have begun their studies at the inter-diocesan Seminary of the Pontifical and Royal University of St. Thomas in Manila.  Both facilities are run by Dominicans. 
Text: Giuseppe Nardi
Trans: Tancred

Saturday, May 24, 2014

The "Hushed" Case of Father Calmel

Edit: who were the figures who resisted for a time, remained true to their vocations, and died serving the true Church, only to be obscured, ridiculed, ignored, unnoticed or placed aside? Surely, many in France know this man and felt the influence of his apostolic zeal. This is one of those great men, who fought an often lonesome fight in the Garden of Gethsemane. Fr. Roger-Thomas Calmel was persecuted mightily by the hierarchy.  He was a French Dominican and taught at a school for the Dominican Sisters of Fanjeux and established a lasting legacy there which lasts to this day.  Pertinacious Papist recently posted this, and we received an e-mail from a reader, Anthony.  God bless for this, here's the article by Cristiana de Magistris:
Dominican religious and Thomist theologian of great importance, director of souls, esteemed and sought throughout the whole of France, Catholic writer of a convincing logic and unambiguous clarity, Fr. Roger-Thomas Calmel (1914-1975) in the difficult years of the Council and the post-council period, was characterized by his counter-revolutionary action, through his preaching, writings and above all by his example, both on a doctrinal as well as a liturgical level. 
But on a particular point the resistance of this son of St. Dominic reached heroism: the Holy Mass. The Catholic Faith is founded upon the Mass because it is in the Mass that our Redemption was wrought by Christ upon Calvary and this is perpetuated in the holy Sacrifice offered day after day. 
1969 was the fateful year of the liturgical revolution, prepared for at length and finally imposed with authority upon a people who neither asked for nor desired it.    
            The birth of the new Mass was not peaceful.  Against the hymns of victory of the novatores, there were the voices of those who did not want to trample upon the past––of almost two millennia––of a Mass which dated back to the apostolic tradition.  This opposition was sustained by two Cardinals of the Curia (Ottaviani and Bacci), but remained completely unheeded.
            The date upon which the new Ordo Missae became effective was fixed for 30thNovember, the first Sunday of Advent, and the opposition was not going to be placated.Paul VI himself, in two general audiences (19th and 26th November 1969), intervened, presenting the new rite of the Mass as the will of the Council and as a help to Christian piety.
            On 26th November he said: “The New rite of the Mass:  it is a change in a venerable tradition that has gone on for centuries. This is something that affects our hereditary religious patrimony, which seemed to enjoy the privilege of being untouchable and settled. It seemed to bring the prayer of our forefathers and our Saints to our lips and to give us the comfort of feeling faithful to our spiritual past, which we kept alive to pass it on to the generations ahead.  It is at such a moment as this that we get a better understanding of the value of historical tradition and the communion of the Saints. This change will affect the ceremonies of the Mass. We shall become aware, perhaps with some feeling of annoyance, that the ceremonies at the altar are no longer being carried out with the same words and gestures to which we were accustomed—perhaps so much accustomed that we no longer took any notice of them. This change also touches the Faithful. It is intended to interest each one of those present, to draw them out of their customary personal devotions or their usual torpor…”.  And he continued by saying that it was necessary to understand the positive meaning of the reforms and to make of the Mass “a school of spiritual depth and a peaceful but demanding school of Christian sociology.

Thursday, January 9, 2014

As 800th Anniversary of the Founding of the Dominicans Nears, Birthplace of Thomism is Closed

Empty Halls of the Dominicans
(Rome) The Dominican Order is one of the most glorious orders of the Catholic Church.  Officially recognized as a religious order in 1215, its members devoted themselves to living in poverty as preachers of the Community of Saint Dominic to combat the Cathar heresy and for the conversion of the Cathars. Just before the Order could celebrate its 800th anniversary, one monastery after another must be closed due to shortage of young workers.  Including traditional-worthy  houses in Graz, Florence, and in Friesach the oldest monastery in the German-speaking areas and in Naples even the monastery of Saint Thomas Aquinas.
The monastery in Graz, Austria has been abandoned after 547 years. The history of the monastery was as changeable as the times. Founded in 1466, a move took place in the 16th Century. The oldest Dominican Church is an urban parish church today. The new monastery was lost in the "Cloister Storm" of the Enlightenment and was expropriated in 1807 by the Emperor. The former Dominican monastery now houses a convention center whose premises can be rented. The Dominicans then were referred to a third location in the city and took over the also abolished Augustinian Hermitage at Münzgraben. In 1832 they had to hand it over to the Jesuits, but were able to return in 1857. In 2012  the decision of the South German-Austrian Province of the Order of St. Albert, was made to dissolve the monastery and in the summer of 2013 it was abandoned.

Oldest Dominican Convent in the German Area Only "Pastoral Station"

The oldest Dominican monastery in the German-speaking world, the monastery in Carinthia Friesach,  was founded in 1216 just one year after the order was recognized, has been dissolved in 2010 by the Province of the Order. Friesach still exists as a Dominican pastoral station. In Austria there is thus nothing more than one Dominican monastery, the one in Vienna. In the Province of Southern Germany-Austria also gives you some monastery convents in Freiburg im Breisgau, Munich and Augsburg.
The prestigious convent of Naples was closed. San Domenico Maggior has been  a spiritual center of scholasticism since 1302. St. Thomas Aquinas took the Dominican habit at the age of 19 there in Naples. In this monastery he wrote a large part of his Summa contra Gentiles in 1259, founded a general study in 1272  which is  what we now know as the Faculty of Theology, and in 1274 wrote the third part of the Summa Theologiae.  The  great saint lived till 1274 in the convent of Naples, when he set out for the Council of Lyons. He could not come back because he died on the voyage.
His theology remained in the monastery  and developed from there a positive effect on the church. The Second Vatican Council strongly recommends the Saints as  teachers ( Optatam Totius, No. 16 ) and to follow the footsteps of the Holy ( Gravissimum educationis, No. 10 ). Church law especially recommends following "the doctrine of St. Thomas" to follow (for the formation of clergy Can. 251.3 ).

Monastery of Saint Thomas Aquinas Will be Closed Down - Not an Isolated Case

But now to the monastery where St. Thomas entered, had been formed,  lived and worked, will be abandoned. A similar decision was taken by the provincial chapter of the Order. The monastery church of San Domenico Maggiore, in the historic center is one of the main churches of Naples. The graves of leaders over 800 years are in it. Many artists such as Titian and Caravaggio have designed their interiors. The Monastery was for centuries the seat of the Province of the Order Regni utriusque Siciliae that covered all of Southern Italy and Sicily, equipped with a Faculty of Theology and a rich library. In this monastery renowned theological and philosophical journals were published. It was only 23 years ago that was Philosophical Institute St. Thomas Aquinas was established. "The fact that after 800 years, this center with such a heritage is put to quite an unspectacular  end, is something incredible in itself," says Mauro Faverzani of Corrispondenza Romana .
"A tragic incident, but not an isolated case," said Faverzani. Almost at the same time, the closure of the monastery of San Marco in Florence, it was decided by another Dominican Province, where the Order had been since 1436. Another center of asceticism, of art, of intellectual debate, which housed the co-patron of the St. Antoninus of Florence, as well as Maxim the Greek, whom the Orthodox venerate as a saints, but also Savonarola, Cosimo de 'Medici, Pico della Mirandola and the St. Philip Neri. Part of the monastery, the first renowned library of modern times, which was opened to the public in general, as an apothecary of European importance. Now this monastery is also dissolved, although only recently extensive and costly renovations were performed. The Provincial Government is of the opinion that two convents in Florence (the other is located at the Church of Santa Maria Novella), is a "luxury". However, an abandoned site is to be managed by the future surviving pastoral location. Reference is made to the lack of friars.
In Rome there are also two convents in two monasteries, which are close together, both are only a few brothers. Nevertheless, it holds by the Rule on both, addressed by Fratres ibique habitualiter degentes   (Constitutions No. 260.1).

On "Spirit of the Council" Follows "Bureaucratic Spirit" - Serious   Research Isn't Undertaken

"In order to justify what is unjustifiable,   bureaucratic thinking has also entered into the spiritual realm," said Corrispondenza Romana . In the interviews given by Dominicans in Florence, therefore, is much talk of "reorganization", "rationalization", "redeployment of resources" as they give to themselves  a business mentality. Believers have now directed an appeal to the General Master of the Order, to take back "the legitimate, but spiritually and culturally deadly decision." The General Master will soon visit all three Italian Dominican Provinces.
The Dominican Order was not only the first order, which powerfully inhaled the "spirit of the Council", but also to the first order, but is among the first that spread this "spirit" abroad with enthusiasm. Leading representatives of the Nouvelle Theology came from the Order of Preachers. Declining vocations, empty seminaries and now the shutting down of the monasteries shows how lethal the "Spirit of the Council" is.

Way Out of Crisis is about Return to the Charism of the Founder

The progressive stream carried by the "Spirit of the Council"  in the Church responded to the crisis "both structurally" with the dissolution of cloisters and the closure of the monasteries. A root cause analysis, as to how it could come to such a disastrous development  within 50 years, has not been accomplished . Thus, a serious search is bypassed for a remedy. There are Dominican forces, which show that there is another way and a return to the charism of the Founder is not only possible, but also represents the way out of the crisis. They are isolated in Europe, but stronger in parts of North America.
Text: CR / Giuseppe Nardi
image: Corrispondenza Romana
Trans: Tancred

Friday, August 9, 2013

Dominicans Abandon Priory in Graz

The Former Dominican Church St. Andrew which the Modernist
Pastor Glettler -- insofar as memorial protection allows -- vandalized.
Declining numbers "force" the Dominicans to abandon convent they've held since in Graz since 1466. The former Dominican church of S. Andrea is among the modernists priest Fr. Glettler - if it makes the monument - defaced [image: cross-net] Almost 550 years in Graz

The Dominicans have worked in Graz since 1466.

At this time came from Emperor Frederick III. gave the Corporis Christi Chapel built in 1439/40, to the Order of the Dominicans.

They extended to the chapel and built a church and monastery.

The Church of the Holy Blood was erected in 1586, one year after the Dominicans had moved to St. Andrew's Church, the parish church. The St. Andrew's Church was renewed under the Dominicans and was built as a baroque church and monastery, in which the Order in its heyday established Universities for Styria, Carinthia and Hungary.

Enlightened Fury

The enlightened Emperor Joseph II abolished the monastery to the detriment of the country in 1786.

The priory, located in the alley named after the venerable poet-priest Ottokar Kernstock, about ten years ago it was marred by being converted into apartments.

In 1807 the Dominicans were dispossessed.

The Convent moved to the parish of St. Anne's church, which it aquired from the Augustinian hermits Münzgraben, where Abraham a Sancta Clara preached in earlier times.

The Order remained here - with an interruption from 1832 to 1857 - until its dissolution.

The current Archbishop of Vienna, Cardinal Schönborn, who worked as a priest for two years at the Catholic university community, lived in the convent for two years.


With the Feast of St. Dominic, on the 4th of August celebrate in the Münzgraben Church, the Order departed.

So you chose - probably because it was a Sunday - the traditional feast day of St. Dominic (4 August), not according the reform of the Roman calendar (since the 8th of August, 1970).

The Dominican Provincial Fr. Christophe P. Holzer of Augsburg also took part in the celebration of Mass. "Due to the lack of young people in Europe, the Order can not maintain each establishment."

The accidental death of the prior, Fr. Max P. Swoboda, a year ago accelerated the decision to repeal of the convention.

The Consequences

The four Dominicans living here to move into a house of the Elizabethinan Sisters, a priest goes to Switzerland and Father Miroslav remains as a hospital chaplain in Graz.

"The Dominican Presence in our city is not to coming to and end," said Bishop Kapellari at the farewell Mass.

The property of the Dominicans will be transferred to the Benedictines of Admont, the church is penned as a gift to the Diocese of Graz-Seckau.

The complex will benefit Admont as a student residence.

In Graz, there are yet 187 men and 490 women acting as religious of various religious orders.

Tuesday, April 30, 2013

Vatican Asks Archbishop of San Juan to Step Down. He Refuses.

Edit: along with the more high-profile case of a priest being excommunicated in Brazil for apparently supporting aberrosexuality, there is another, the Archbishop of San Juan in Puerto Rico, who has been asked to step down by the Vatican.  He refuses to do so.  It’s interesting there’s been on attention put on this yet.  There have been accusations against the Dominican Archbishop since 2011. Here’s the portion as it was reported by the Latin Times.

San Juan de Puerto Rico's archbishop has been asked twice by the Vatican to step down from the head of the diocese in at least two occasions, local newspaper Vocero reports. 
Roberto González Nieves answered in February to allegations made against him in the Vatican, especially the remarks signed by cardinal Marc Ouellet and his secretary, Lorenzo Baldisseri, in a meeting in Rome in December of last year. 
"In such meeting, I was told I had to leave the diocese in San Juan and take another position within the Catholic church. The unfairness, prosecution, difamation can never be sources for the renounce of a bishop, or its fair cause. I want to make it clear that I would never leave the diocese of San Juan when there is no legitimate reason," he worte in a letter dated of Febrary 20.
Link to Latin Times…


Friday, November 30, 2012

New Spingtime: Dominicans to Give up Oldest Cloister in German Speaking Area

Edit: The closings are continuing.  Rorate Caeli just reported about the closing of the Monastery of St. Bernard in Switzerland.

(Friesach) The Dominican Order is giving its oldest lasting Cloister in the German speaking area.  The Dominican Cloister of Friesach in Kaertnen will be sold, as the Order Provincial told the Austrian newspaper Kleine Zeitung.  Negotiations with the city of Friesach are already in process.  The city administration is considering the use of the Cloister facility as a senior home or a youth center.  A sale is not in question due to reasons of cost.   For the Nicholas Church, the Diocese of Gurk-Klagenfurt has expressed interest, as the General Vicar Engelbert Guggenberger has stated.

A transfer of the Cloister property has been under discussion within the Order for years.  Already in 2006 the Provincial headquarters has reached a conclusion.  Today there are still two friars living in the Cloister.  The superlatives do not appear to have stopped the order.  Cloister Freisach is the oldest settlement of the Dominican Order in the German speaking area, as the Cloister church of St. Nicholas built in 1251 is the longest in use in Kaernten.

Already in the year 1217, only two years after the founding of the Order in France had still not taken place, but at the same time had come from the recently freed from heretical Albiginsians in Toulouse came the first Dominicans to Friesach,  with which formed the seed of the new community in the German speaking lands during the lifetime of St. Dominic Guzman himself (+1221). At its highest point there were 100 brothers in the Cloister. Then the Cloister went into decline, and there were times of spiritual deforestation of the Enlightenment.  They escaped the reforms of Emperor Joseph II. Through that time the Cloister lived through the French Revolutionary Spirit at the beginning of the 19th century in its decline.  In 1858 because of a lack of growth it had to be sold to Dominican Sisters of the Tirolean city of Lienz.  Through the recovery of the Order the Dominicans through the initiative of the Apostolic Nuncio Andreas Cardinal Fruhwirth, himself a Dominican, moved back to the Cloister in order to live again.  112 years later there is a second closing facing them.

Link to Katholisches...

Text: Giuseppe Nardi

Monday, October 22, 2012

News -- Dominican Order Explosive Growth for Tradition

(New York)  While the Dominican Order in some parts of Europe has some serious growth problems, that is not the ase for the Dominican Province of St. Joseph, which has just published on the internet site it operates for vocations, a photo of the Academic Year 2012/13.  There are 52 brothers in the Province, who are studying at the Catholic University of America in Washington D.C.. They all cultivate the traditions of the Dominican Order, wear the habit worthily and are all drawn to the Immemorial Mass of All Ages.

Text: Order of Preachers Vocations/Giuseppe Nardi
Bild: Order of Preachers Vocations

Sunday, August 19, 2012

Dominican Bad Vestments for Football Season

Edit: here's Father Dismas Sayre, who is the Parochial Vicar of the Hispanic Ministry for the Dominicans in California.  He's attired for football season in a stole with a professional football team on them.

Chris Gillibrand showed us a link where this man shows a penchant for Lifeteen Liturgy too,which is famous for Arizona's own sexual predator and Modernist Msgr Dale Fuschek.

What's the big deal, you ask?

If you don't know what's wrong with this, a dictionary definition probably won't help, but perhaps you might object if he showed up wearing this for a relative's funeral.  Part of the definition of Sacrilege from New Advant's Catholic Encyclopedia as follows:

Sacrilege is in general the violation or injurious treatment of a sacred object. In a less proper sense any transgression against the virtue of religion would be a sacrilege.

Theologians are substantially agreed in regarding as sacred that and that only which by a public rite and by Divine orecclesiastical institution has been dedicated to the worship of God. The point is that the public authority must intervene; private initiative, no matter how ardent in devotion or praiseworthy in motive, does not suffice. Attributing a sacred characterto a thing is a juridical act, and as such is a function of the governing power of the Church.

It is customary to enumerate three kinds of sacrilege: personal, local, and real. St. Thomas teaches (Summa, II-II, Q., xcix) that a different sort of holiness attaches to persons, places, and things. Hence the irreverence offered to any one of them is specifically distinct from that which is exhibited to the others. Suarez (De Religione, tr. iii, 1-3) does not seem to think the division very logical, but accepts it as being in accord with the canons.

Tuesday, April 3, 2012

Contemplative Dominicans Revive Dominican Chant

Traditional Dominican Nuns have awakened those timeless melodies, whose goose the Vatican Council has tried to cook, to new life. (Not of this Church)

(, Avrille)  The Traditional contemplative Dominicans of Avrille will celebrate soon their 25th year of existence.

This is according to their superior, Mother Marie-Emmanuel on '' the website of the French District of the Society of St. Pius X.

The 12,000 soul community of Avrille is near Angers in western France.

Not of this World

The life of the Dominican nuns is described by Mother Marie-Emmanuel as open, simple and balanced:  "It is filled with supernatural joy."

The lives of the Dominican nuns is "not of this world".

Free in the Prison of Love

On the way to heaven the same principle is valid as in the desert, in the arctic circle or climbing a mountain:  "To stay in the same place means death".

The cloistered nun says of the bars of the enclosure, that the sisters are prisoners of the love of God are unendingly free.

When a postulant enters the enclosure,   she is initially impressed by the silence, the simplicity and the love of neighbor.

The silence is filled with God's presence.

God Takes Away the Useless

The closer one comes to the source, the more the thirst for it grows.

A Dominican sister throws off all excess ballast, in order to find the face of Christ.

The divine bride simplifies the inner life of the soul and immediately takes the useless away.

Desire for Silence and Prayer

When asked about the call Sister explained that every soul has her own story.

She is a world unto herself and belongs to God.

When he calls, he gives everything that is necessary to follow the call.

For life in the Cloister it is necessary for the sister to have a thirst for God as well as a desire for silence and prayer.

The exteriorly inactive life uncovers an inexhaustible treasure.

Exclusively Facing God

A soul which has been called would find an active life dry and full of care.

It would not give everything that it could:  "It would seem as though she was stealing from God".

It is of the greatest importance, that God chooses some of His creatures to serve Him alone.

The Superior recalls that even with the hierarchies of angels, some are exclusively turned to face God.

They fertilize the -- increasingly non-existent -- Apostolate

Mother Marie-Emmanuel explains why the nuns in her cloister belong to the "Order of Preachers":

"The Dominicans take contemplation to the soul and the Dominican nuns carry the soul to contemplation."

The nuns preach in the silence of their hidden life.

They would never forget to pray for the holiness and blessings of others.

Their love is concerned with the -- very thin flow of-- apostolates of priests and missionaries.

No Competition 

The Sisters have good contacts with other traditional nuns -- Carmelites, Clares and Benedictinnes.

In the world of saints there is no competition. 

In a garden, which is apparently "so fruitful"  as the Holy Church, "every flower is happy with the spot that God has planted it."

She is happy for the beauty of all the other flowers.

For that reason, Mother Superior clearly knows, "that the foundations of the Church are shaken in this time."

The Old Sounds Are New

The Superior stresses, that her Cloister is restoring the Office of the ancient melodies of the Dominicans.

These tones were silenced after the catastrophe of the Council.

Finally, sister explained that her community is open to beginning anew.

Tuesday, September 13, 2011

Penance in Latin at the Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore

In the Papal Basilica of Saint Maria Maggiore in Rome, Penance is heard in Latin. Father Jan Raffaele de Brabandere of the Dominican Order offers the languages of French, Italian, Dutch, English, German, Spanish, Danish, Swedish and Norwegian in the Basilica and the basic language of Latin for all the faithful from the world, who perhaps have a great need on their Rome pilgrimage for the purifying Sacrament of reconciliation and the forgiveness of sins.

Fr. de Brandadere, aged 1928, is residing directly at the Basilica, belongs to the 108 Dominicans active in the Holy City. At the Basilica, he is the Penitentiary and Almoner, and in addition serves as high ranking Prelate of the Papal Household. The doctoral Church Musician is also famous for his compositions in church music.

Text: Orbis catholicus/Giuseppe Nardi, from the German.

H/t Katholisches...

Wednesday, December 15, 2010

Braunschweig Dominicans Out of Control Promote Homosexuality on Website

Under pressure from without the Braunschweiger Dominicans have undertaken some cosmetic alterations.

(  Homo-Dominicans in Branschweig have removed the worst references to unnatural offers of seducation from their website after  substantial protests.

Till yesterday the propaganda material as well as "homosexual-groups" and homo-networks were openly promoted -- "in place of spreading Gospel and the teaching of the Catholic Church as well as informing about their precautions for the prevention of sexual abuse" -- as the protestant Website '" explained it.

Actually '' maintained that the internet offers of degenerate company is still "exclusively single minded".

Because: "All of the available information blocks reglated to the theme of Homosexuality and the connections to information ports to homosexual groups remained unchanged at the Dominican website."

• The website of the morally degenerate 'Ecumenical Homosexual Workgroup and Church'
•The website of the decadent 'Network of Catholic Lesbians"
 •The website of the unnatural 'Youth Network Lamda'
•The website of church and enemies of the bible 'Gays in Cartel of Catholic Student Organizations'
•The entrance onto the web of Church-hate group 'Workshop for Gay Theology'

The site '' cited from an editorial that the 'Workshop for Gay Theology' had published in 2008.

There you can read things like:  "It is unforeseeable that the hierarchy of the Catholic Church has shifted the terrain of its homophobic interventions."

The gay-site was describing the Church's  fight against the State's privileging of  homosexual concubinage.

The editorial asks the question if homo-ideology could change the approximate "homophobic powerstructures in the Church", which supposedly have hardened  in "visciouness and hypocrisy".

 One finds also on the homo-website of the Braunschweig Dominicans now as before the rubric "Homophobia".

Here comes the distorted homosexually disturbed  Udo Rauchfleisch to the fore.  He fantacizes over "anti-homosexual violence".

In reality the homo-ideology is already long acquainted with a readiness to commit violence, joined by state-tolerated left storm troopers -- and waltz down anyone who dares to criticize the homo power grabs.

The site '" wonders about the site of the Dominicans and why they haven't put anything about the Catholic Church's teaching about homosexual-perversion.

There is also no information about spiritual groups and therapeutic approaches for those who suffer homosexuality, to follow the Gospel and free them from their homosexual temptations.

The Portal also maintains that the Dominicans "explained nothing about sexual abuse" on their website.

Accordingly, in the Church's area where abuse is relatively rare, over eighty percent of the perpetrators are homosexuals.

Read original at in German...

© Bild: Lawrence OP, CC

Sunday, November 7, 2010

Alaska Attorney Seeks Help to Enter Dominican Order

Tara Clemens

Anchorage attorney, convert to Catholicism and Holy Family Cathedral parishioner Tara Clemens has been accepted for the postulancy at Corpus Christi Monastery, a Dominican religious cloister in Menlo Park, Ca. The mission of the cloistered Dominican nuns is to honor and promote devotion to Our Lord in the Blessed Sacrament.

The target date for Clemens’ entry at the monastery is June 8, 2011 – pending resolution of her educational debt.

Clemens completed an aspirancy, a month-long visit at the monastery, in February. The postulancy would be Clemens’ second step in the eight-year discernment process toward taking final, life-long vows as a cloistered nun.

But first, Clemens must resolve her school debt.

“This is the one hurdle keeping me from entering religious life,” Clemens told the Catholic Anchor.

Although she is working to pay down the debt, the balance is “significant, especially in today’s economy,” Clemens explained, so “I will not be able to enter religious life without the generous support of others.”

To this end, she is working with the Labouré Society, a non-profit organization that assists aspirants in resolving educational debt so they are free to enter the priesthood or religious life.

Paying off the debt by June is “no small task,” Clemens observed, but “with God all things are possible.”

Tax-deductible contributions may be made to the Labouré Society in honor of Tara Clemens at

Read more about Clemens’ journey to the cloistered monastery at And visit Clemens’ online blog at

Thursday, December 31, 2009

Where are Michael Rose's Detractors Now?

We knew a lot of Dominicans were estranged from good sense and lacked a certain gravitas but this is ridiculous. Rorate Caeli reports Fr. Bernard De Cock, O.P. at Louvaine University who blithely states, "homosexual love can be God's love".

We remember when certain detractors at Crisis Magazine of Michael Rose's book, Good Bye, Good Men, once said that Louvaine was a perfectly acceptable place for the formation of priests.