Showing posts with label Restoratio. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Restoratio. Show all posts

Tuesday, October 9, 2018

Sydney Bishop Assigns Immemorial Mass to Under-30 Demographic

Auxiliary Bishop of Sydney sees the future of the liturgy in the Immemorial Mass of All Ages. The older the faithful, the more infantile the liturgy must be.

(Sydney) An unusual statement on the sacred liturgy has been made by an Australian bishop.

Msgr. Richard Umber is Auxiliary Bishop of the Archdiocese of Sydney. As the Sydney Archbishop Dominic Anthony Fisher joins the Synod at the Synod of the Youth in Rome, his Auxiliary Bishop sent an unusual tweet at home about the liturgy and the future of the Church. A hard judgment on the so-called post-conciliar believers is easy: the older, the more infantile the liturgy must be for them.

On October 7, Auxiliary Bishop Umber wrote:

A priest should consider the pastoral needs of the Church when choosing between different options for the Mass:

Under 30: 1962 Missal
Over 50 years: youth Mass
Over 70 years and a child are present: Kiddie Liturgy


Thursday, May 17, 2018

Seminarians of Paris Get to Know Immemorial Mass of All Ages

Seminarians of the seminary of Paris decided in their vast majority to want to know the Immemorial Mass of All Ages
(Paris) 80 seminarians of the Archdiocese of Paris have recently attended Holy Mass in the traditional form of the Roman Rite on February 2nd, at the Feast of Candlemass.
At the feast of Jesus in Templo and Purificatio Mariae, an unprecedented event took place in Paris. The Archdiocesan Seminary of Paris is the largest diocesan seminary in France. On 1 February, the seminarians attended an educational day at which they were introduced to the traditional [real] form of the Roman Rite in the Parisian church of Saint Eugène-Sainte Cecile by the priests working there, the canon lawyers Abbé Marc Guelfucci and Abbé Éric Iborra. Saint Eugène-Sainte Cecile is a parish of the Archdiocese of Paris. Both priests teach at the same time as professors at the archdiocesan seminary.
Holy Mass at the Feast of Candlemass  
The Abbot of the old ritual Benedictine monastery of Le Barroux, Dom Louis-Marie de Geyer d'Orth, then celebrated with the seminarians in the church of Saint-Louis-en-l'Île, dedicated to the French King Louis the Saint, at Holy Mass in the so-called extraordinary form, as Pope Benedict XVI. explained it in the Motu proprio Summorum Pontificum .
After decades of harsh rejection and exclusion of the traditional rite, especially in France, where the intra-Church conflict was particularly marked by a strong traditionalist movement, there are signs of rapprochement. This is also evident from the fact that it was the seminarians who, in their absolute majority in the academic year 2017/2018, wanted to study the traditional form of the Roman Rite and the Motu proprio Summorum Pontificum, although, according to Corrispondenza Romana, it was not due to attempts by the diocesan authorities who had failed in the formation of priests to dissuade them.
"The reality is different, and tells of a renewal of the Church, in France and elsewhere, thanks to the traditional orders and communities that attract vocations and now also attract the attention of the future diocesan clergy."
The Benedictine abbey Le Barroux, from which the celebrant was called, goes back to a foundation of Dom Gerard Calvet (1927-2008). The Benedictine rejected the liturgical reform of 1969/1970 as a serious break with tradition and returned as a hermit in the French Alps. After companions joined him, he began in 1978 in Le Barroux with the construction of the monastery.
He maintained close relations with the Society of St. Pius X, founded by Archbishop Marcel, but this did not follow in 1988 on the path of episcopal ordinations not permitted by Rome. He broke the link with the Society of Pius and accepted the offer of the Holy See for reconciliation. His old rite community was canonically recognized by Rome, followed in 1989 by Calvet's deference. Dom Louis-Marie de Geyer d'Orth has been the second abbot of Le Barroux since 2003.

Although the seminary of the Archdiocese of Paris is the largest diocesan seminary in France, the largest seminary in the country, with more than 100 seminarians, is that of the Saint Martin Community, where, in contrast to the diocesan seminaries, the seminarians as in the seminaries of tradition, wear the cassock (vestis talaris).
Text: Giuseppe Nardi
Image: Riposte Catholique / Corrispondenza Romana
Trans: Tancred

Friday, March 3, 2017

Ad Orientem Mass Returns to San Francisco Parish

SAN FRANCISCO ( - Starting Ash Wednesday, a parish priest in San Francisco is offering all Masses ad orientem — facing the altar.
Father Joseph Illo — pastor at Star of the Sea in Abp. Salvatore Cordileone's archdiocese of San Francisco — told Church Militant the inspiration behind this change in orientation came from Cdl. Robert Sarah, prefect of the Congregation for Divine Liturgy. Referencing Cdl. Sarah's talk at the 2016 Sacra Liturgia conference and Cdl. Sarah's book — God or Nothing — Fr. Illo related, "It was Cdl. Sarah's suggestion that we requested permission to implement; but Abp. Cordileone gave his approval."

Sunday, September 1, 2013

New Traditional General Superior of the Community “Serviteurs de Jésus et de Marie"

(Paris) The Serviteurs de Jésus et de Marie (not to be confused with the Order of the Servants of Jesus and Mary founded in 1988 by Father Andreas Hönisch in the German speaking countries) have a new Superior General. The French traditionalist religious community was founded in 1930 by the priest Jean-Edouard Lamy (1853-1931). In 1909 the Virgin Mary appeared to Lamy and asked him to set up a pilgrimage to Notre-Dame des Bois near his birthplace Haute Mame. The Blessed Mother asked him also to establish an Order. The latter became possible shortly before the death of Lamy.

The General Chapter of the Serviteurs de Jésus et de Marie, which gathered in the abbey of Ourscamp, chose Father Laurent-Marie Picquet du Haut Jussé as the new Superior General. Father Laurent-Marie Picquet du Haut Jussé was born in 1968. In 1998 he was ordained a priest. He has a doctorate in theology from Rome and earned a licentiate in canon law. He teaches theology and canon law at various training sites for priests, including the Seminary of the Diocese of Frejus-Toulon of Bishop Dominique Rey, is a military chaplain and acts as judge in a tribunal for the Archdiocese of Paris. In 2012 he published a historical, doctrinal and spiritual introduction to the Extraordinary Form of the Roman Rite. The new Superior General in Compiegne has regularly celebrated in the traditional Rite.

Three offices - Focus youth apostolate

The members of the order of the Serviteurs de Jésus et de Marie live in a monastic community. They are active in parish ministry and have a special focus on youth apostolate. The Order has three branches, once in the ruins of the old Notre-Dame d'Ourscamp abbey, a priory in Alsace and a subsidiary in Argentina. After a slow start, the Order has begun to win postulants in the 80s and 90s under Father Thierry de Roucy (1988-2001 Superior General). A trend which will continue. Today, the community has 30 members. With the Servantes de Jésus et de Marie, a female branch has been created, the Church recognized it in 2001 by the Bishop of Beauvais.

Their name as servants is modeled in their program after St. Joseph and St. John. The patron saint of the Order is the Immaculate Heart of Mary, refuge of sinners. The members of the order to follow the example of their founder Pere Lamy in following Jesus and Mary.

Abbey d'Ourscamp: Ruins of The Old Monastery Church

Resettled former Abbey Ourscamp

Ourscamp in Picardy is known today primarily because of its impressive monastery ruins of the former Cistercian abbey. The abbey was created in 1129 as a subsidiary founded by Saint Bernard of Clairvaux and counted in its heyday more than 500 monks. During the French Revolution the abbey government was abolished in 1792, the 102-meter monastery church was mostly raised. The monastery buildings were transferred to the possession of a revolutionary functionary, who made it his castle. In 1825 it was used as a factory. In World War I it was occupied by German troops, it burned after that as a result of Allied bombardment. Remaining is the imposing Hospital from the year 1220, and the abbot's house.

In 1940 the Serviteurs de Jésus et de Marie made the monastery new again.

Text: Giuseppe Nardi
 Image: Wikicommons / Riposte Catholique
Trans: Tancred AMGD

Link to katholisches….

Friday, February 1, 2013

Church Renewal in Holland-- Priestly Formation in TLM

(Amsterdam) The Netherlands were in the grip of an inner-Church rebellion during the second half of the 60s and the rapid dissolution of the Catholic Faith. A phenomenon that was all the more astonishing since the Catholic minority in Holland had shown great perseverance since Dutch independence, which defended itself against a militant, confessional Calvinism. After a breathtaking devastation, today the signs of renewal are visible in the Netherlands. Three will be described here.

On 13 December, on the Feast of St Lucia, the Seminaryof St Willibrord of the Diocese of Harlem-Amsterdam celebrated it first Immemorial Mass of All Ages.

At Titennergthere is a Philosophy College next to the seminary, which is connected to the Papal Lateran University, the Theological Institute of St Bonifacious for Deacons, Catechists of the Diocese and a center for Catholic social teaching. In Tiltenberg there was originally a Gymnasium (School preparing boys for higher studies) with dormitory which was transformed by the previous bishop into a seminary in 1997.

The first Holy Mass in the "Old Rite" was celebrated for the seminarians by Chaplain Bunschoten. Two seminarians carries out the service of the altar. As the Rector of the Seminary Gerard Beuggnik with the approval of Bishop of Harlem-Amsterdam, Msr Jos Punt explained, the seminary will form future priests in both forms of the Roman Rite, as foreseen by the Motu Proprio of Pope Benedict XVI. In 2007.

In Nobember 2012 an event took place at the seminary Cale's "Liturgy and Sacrum". The speakers were noteworthy members of the Liturgical Movement which had been begun by Pope Bemedict XVI., among them the famous Liturgist Don Nicola Bux and the German Oratorian Fr. Use Michael Lang.

In Leiden, the home of the painter Rembrandt there is in Lodewijkskerk a biritual community. Father Smith celebrates the Holy Sacrifice of the Mass weekly in the Ordinary and Extraordinary Form of the Roman Rite.

Soon an Italian Benedictine Cloister of strict observance will found a new cloister in Holland at the desire of the local bishop.

Trams: Tancred
Text: MiL/Giuseppe Nardi
Bilder: Tiltenberg/Lodewijkskerk


Thursday, October 4, 2012

Cistercian Abbey in Czech Republic Restores Old Rite and Office

(Prague)  The Czech Cistercian Abbey, Vyssi Brod -- Hohenfurth has become an old ritual community.  The Holy Mass will be celebrated for the faithful in the ordinary as well as in the Immemorial Rite of the Mass.  The Cloister community itself has returned to a traditional choir and praying of the Cistercian Liturgy of the Hours and celebrates the "classical" form of the Roman Rite as of 2011 in the Autumn. The restoration of the classical Office was supported by a collaboration with the Trappist Abbey of Mariawald.  The life of the Monastic community begins at 4:15am with rising and ends at 7:15 pm (7:45 in Summer)  with the lecture in the Rule of St. Benedict, the Collations, Compline and Salve Regina.  After that, "strict nightly silence" is maintained.

Parts of the magnificent cloister may be viewed, this is valid for near the Abbey church and above all the impressive library and refectory.  "To participate in the tour, decent clothing appropriate to the place is necessary,"as it says on the internet site of the Cloister.

750 Years of Cistercian Ora et Labora in the South Bohemian Hohenfurt

The Cistercian Abbey of Hohenfurth was founded in 1259 in what was then German-settled southern Bohemia by Wok von Rosenburg and settled with monks from the Abbey of Wilhering near Linz.  The  hub of the Cloister community formed the market town of Hohenfurt with about 100 households in the surrounding area. During the Hussite Wars and the 30 Years War it was drawn by sympathy to undertake the renewal of pastoral care in the wake of the Protestant Revolt in numerous parishes.  Its involvement in the education system even allowed the Cloister to escape the destructive reforms of Josephismus.

After the First World War the area of Hohenfurt with its 1459 German and five Czech inhabitants, complete with the Cloister became part of the new Czech Republic.  The new State adopted a "hostile disposition" toward it, which was as ideological as it was also ethnically motivated and in the land reform which allowed up to 250 hectares almost all of the  Cloister property of more than 5,500 hectares of wood and farmland was confiscated.

The election of the 43rd and presently the last Abbot formed himself with difficulty in 1925.  The Czech authorities conveyed a not very pleasant talking "to" not to recognize the German candidates.  Although the ethnic question had never played a role in the Cloister, Hohenfurth operated like a German Cloister.   So it was a concern to find a virtuous candidate who the authorities were not "negatively inclined" to.  The election fell upon Father Tezelin Jaksch from Hackelhof born in Budweis,  who was then the pastor of Payerschau, "because of his refined bearing and his complete mastery of the Czech language."  Abbot Tezelin attempted to reclaim three quarters of the original Cloister property, which still hadn't been resold by the State.

The Abbey bloomed in 1938, in which the Abbey reached its high water mark with 70 monks, with the    Suddetenland of the Third Reich.  The Czech monks had to leave the monastery, Abbot Tezelin was imprisoned as a pretext and deported to the protectorate of Bohemia and Maehren. The convent then elected an Abbot Coadjutor with Father Dominik Kaindl.   After that the Cloister was repealed by the National Socialists after almost 700 years of unbroken existence.  Father Engelbert Blochl died in KZ Dachau, 21 monks were drawn to serve in the war in the Wehrmach, of whom 10 did not return,  while another died as a prisoner of war.  During the war, the Wehrmacht established a hospital in the Cloister and by the end of the war, American troops, who were sent to south Bohemia, made a military camp out of it.

After the Second World War Abbot Tezlin Jaksch (1885-1954) struggled for the re-establishment of the Cloister, which indeed succeeded statutorily, was in any case reduced ad absurdam, there where the German monks, and with them almost the entire convent, were driven out in the course of Czech directed ethnic cleansing with the rest of the German population.  The Czech authorities confiscated the entire property and declared that "the Cistercians of Hohenfurth are traitors and enemies of the Czech Republic".  Only a few Czech monks were allowed to return to the Abbey with great difficulty.

The Communist power transfer of 1948 almost seamlessly took up the National Socialist persecution.  Abbot Jaksch had to leave Cloister Hohenfurth in the same year and go to Austria.  The Cloister was closed by the Communists in 1950.  The last two still remaining Czech monks were interned and the Cloister was transformed into a military concern.  The exiled monks of Hohenfurth found refuge in Austrian and Bavarian Cisterician Cloisters above all in Stift Rein in Steyria, which has since 1959 in the event of the 700th foundation anniversary of Hohenfurth, took up the name Rein-Hohenfurth.

After the break up of the Communist dictatorship in 1990, the two Cistercians still living at Hohenfurth travelled back to Bohemia and began the new settlement of the Cloister.  In all there are still six Hohenfurth monks in various Cloisters of Austria and Bavaria, yet the other four are too old and fragile for a journey.

The restoration took place with great difficulty, since the Czechoslovakian State till 1994, and the Czech since 1994, shows no interest in the rebuilding of the Catholic orders. The return of the Cloister properties stolen from the State proved to be difficult and lengthy.  For the new beginning there was economic help also from the Cistercian Cloister of Heiligenkreuz.  In 1992 four novices were accepted into the Cloister.  Since then the Priory of Hohenfurth -- Vyssi Brod, which has been led since 2007 by Justinus Berka, is struggling for the restoration of the life of the Cloister and after the atheistic deforestation, for the evangelization of Bohemia.

Text: Giuseppe Nardi
Bild: Kloster Vyssi Brod (Hohenfurth)

Link to original katholisches....

Friday, August 24, 2012

Old Jesuit Church Taken Over by Traditionalist Order in Ireland

Edit: Sacred Heart in Limmerick was once a church run by the declining Jesuit order. Other orders, however, are growing and in a very symbolic way, the Institute of Christ the King is taking over the old church and restoring it to its proper use. Here we cite from Conleth's Catholic Heritage Association:

The prior of the Church of the Sacred Heart is a 38 year-old priest, Canon Wulfran Lebocq, choir-master of the Institute and permanently resident in the diocese since 2010. For the time being, the community in Limerick is composed of four members, whose average age is 32.

In Limerick, the Institute of Christ the King, supported by many local residents and a large group of friends in Ireland and abroad, intends to restore the Church of the Sacred Heart to its original purpose as a vibrant spiritual and cultural centre and a beautiful place of worship through a dynamic and open community life as a spiritual family. However, this will require a careful historical restoration before the Church may be opened once again to the greater public.
The Institute of Christ the King celebrates the classical Roman Liturgy, the Latin Mass, in its Extraordinary Form according to the liturgical books promulgated by Blessed Pope John XXIII in 1962. This liturgy, promoted by Blessed John Paul II and Pope Benedict XVI in various documents, attracts today an ever greater number of people, especially young adults, students and families. The Institute is accustomed to see a lively family of faithful in its churches and wishes to bring the uplifting beauty of sacrality and genuine culture to all.

This beautiful church at the Crescent is still today a special architectural jewel, and many deplored its closing and long-term vacancy. The Institute of Christ the King, which has a special devotion to the Sacred Heart of Jesus, truly desires to reopen this church for the benefit of all, in close collaboration with the local civil and ecclesiastical authorities. In this way, yet another sign of a brighter future will again come alive in Limerick.

Link to Conleth Catholic Heritage Association website...

 Here's a video and brief description complete with shots of the church:
This iconic building is situated at the Crescent, on O'Connell Street, Limerick, and was completed in 1868 and opened for public worship on January 27th 1869. The architect was William Corbett and the church is in the parish of St Joseph's. According to some reports, it was originally intended to be dedicated to St. Aloysius but when it was formally dedicated in 1869 it was called the 'Church of the Sacred Heart'. 
The façade of the church is Classical/Grecian in design and was renovated in 1900. There are no aisles in the church but the nave had two rows of pews. The nave was extended in 1919. The ceiling of the church is panelled with floriated ornaments in Stucco work. The high altar was designed by William Corbett and is made from 22 types of precious marble. On the floor around the high altar, there are the symbols of the four writers of the Gospels. The angel represents Matthew, the lion represents Mark while Luke and John are represented by the bull and eagle respectively. Some of the stained glass windows throughout the church show the letters 'IHS'. These letters are the first three letters of the Greek word for Jesus which is IHSOUS. In Latin the letters stand for Jesus hominum salvator which translates as 'Jesus, Saviour of men'. There are nine mosaics above the high altar. 
The central mosaic is of the Sacred Heart ascending in the presence of St Margaret Mary Alacoque and Blessed Claude la Colombiere. It is surrounded (from left to right) by depictions of St Francis Jerome, St Francis Borgia, St Francis Xavier, St Ignatius, St Stanislaus, St Aloysius, St John Berchmans and St Francis Regis. 
Sadly, the church (& residence) formally closed in 2006 and is currently for sale - again!

Friday, August 17, 2012

Kirchensteuer: The Diocese of Chur Breaks Away!

Edit: Bishop Huonder strikes a tremendous blow against the Liberals in his Diocese as he effectively cuts their means of support.  The official Swiss Church is dominated in its administration by Leftists, and they created many problems for Bishop Huonder's predecessor.

Bishop Huonder is very traditional friendly, often says the Mass of All Ages and is often identified as being a harsh reactionary and is attacked even by his own priests.

He has remained in his position however, and continues to close in on the Old Liberal apparachiks on his Diocese, showing as much magnanimity, intelligence and liberality, by cutting the rotten state church off at its knees.

(  The Swiss national court stated on July 9th:

A person can belong to the body of the Catholic Church without belonging to the state church body of the canton.

This decision was commented on by the press speaker of the Diocese of Church on the 14th of August.

His statement bore the title:  "The real Church does not demand steuer (tax) for membership".

Free Contributions instead of a Forced Tax

The judgement confirmed for Bishop Vitus Huonder the "Chur Model" introduced in 2009 -- explained Gracia.

It offers the possibility to offer free contributions instead of Church-tax as an endowment of solidarity to the Diocese.

If a person decides to leave the State Church, it is not expected of him that he is distancing himself either from his Catholic Faith or the Church:

"Also in these circumstances he will not be threatened with refusal of the Sacraments."

Communion with Christ Instead of Church-steuer

The Diocese complained about the lack of transparency:

"Still many don't know that the Catholic Church as such demands no Kirchensteuer (tax) and that in almost all the other countries are unfamiliar with a system comparable to that of Switzerland."

Worldwide, 95% of all Catholics are free regarding donations and other obligations to support-- without a comparable steuersystem:

"In order to respect this freedom, there may also be no forced imposition between the steuersystem -- on the side of the "national church" or the Church community -- and complete communion with the Catholic Church."

This community isn't bound by a financial system, but on being bound with Jesus Christ.

Canon law actually speaks of material solidarity:  "The manner and means, how this is effected, remains however up to the discretion of the faithful."

Saturday, February 11, 2012

Cardinal Ruini Says Church Should Go to its Roots

Pope Benedict XVI gives Polish President Lech Kaczynski (kneeling) Holy Communion 

13:27 11 FEB 2012 

(AGI) Vatican City - Cardinal Ruini said the Church's mission must now return to what it was in the beginning. Closing the symposium, 'Jesus our contemporary', sponsored by the Italian Bishop's Conference as part of the Cultural Project, Ruini explained: "Today the mission must return to what it was in the beginning: a life choice that involves the entire Christian community and each of its members, each naturally in accordance with the practical conditions of his life." The cardinal added "the most urgent question is one on the future of faith in Jesus by new generations." "Today probably it is no longer enough for some church members to live their faith as a mission 

Link to original...

Link to photosource...